DmC. Finished.

Sunday, 2 February 2025 08:37 pm
temris: (constantine)
I finally played this game after years of it waiting for me in my Steam library.

I want to start by complimenting the gameplay. Apparently, it's actually why a lot of people didn't like this game back then, for being "too beginner friendly" or something (my source is a Matt McMuscles video). I always play games on Easy difficulty so LOL. I still feel like it has the basis combo mechanics, nice movesets and different weapons that actually give you the feeling of difference (I usually never even bothered to change weapons in the previous games, yeah 😁).
The arm mechanics (pulling, pushing etc.) from DMC4 was one of the things that made me like that game a lot, so it was nice to see that it's made a comeback in this one as well (minus the arm though).

The story was never something I looked forward to in DMC. This game was supposed to be a reboot of the series, so they took a lot of liberty with it. It's nothing new though, and I think it somehow became even more cliche making them nephilim, and reminiscent of Bayonetta.

Speaking of Bayonetta, earlier in the game, it reminded me a lot of Bayonetta with its environment, and throughout the game -- the whole "Limbo"/"real world" thing really underlined it all. It's not bad or good -- I just got reminded of it. Overall, I liked the look of the places.

I can't say the same about the character models. In general, I find it uncanny valley material when games try to go more realistic; this wasn't that, but... the way they emote was SO WEIRD most of the time.


 
When you smell that zaza


 
Like...??

Also, the constant action movie shaky cam WAS ANNOYING af.


 
Vergil's dumbass hat.


 
He takes it off fortunately, and looks incredibly hot...?


 
I've never liked Vergil that much, it's so stupid that it's THIS game that made me go "he kinda handsome".

One of the biggest problems I had with this game is caused by its port on Steam I guess. I couldn't play this game when I had my controller connected. I tried many "solutions" online but nothing worked unfortunately. I could have let it go, but the gameplay made me enjoy the game a lot, so I actually finished the whole game with keyboard & mouse.
This brought a lot of problems with it.
  • The whole pull & push mechanics are incredibly more obstructive. With sausage-like fingers like mine, it's really a bother to get used to the controls. Though, you can change the whole map I think, so that's good.
  • When you're not in a rush, it's fine to try to time your jumping and flying-in-the-air-for-a-short-time-gimmick. But most of the time, I kept falling because I couldn't press the keys CORRECTLY and IN TIME. That was very annoying.
MORE ON CRINGY DIALOGUE. I always found the dialogue in DMC cringy, but it was endearing-cringe. This time, it's annoying-cringe. AND A LOT OF IT. There were also so many scenes for shock value, and "comedy" which made me roll my eyes a lot. Swearing too -- don't forget, this is a MATURE GAME!!!

I liked some of the boss fights, especially the Bob Barbas one I think was very creative. I remembered Kat's existence while looking at the photos to post them so I think it's very telling how the side characters were.

IN SHORT. Nice to play game if you turn off your brain.

temris: (dante)
As the title suggests, after a long time I actually found something that I enjoyed spending my time with.

I realized it's been a while since I've played a DMC game and as I am playing them one by one, it was either DmC the reboot one or the DMC4's turn. I went with DMC4 and I'll probably play the reboot after I'm also done with DMC5.

Surprisingly, playing as Nero was so much fun. I thought that the only change'd be with the protagonist apperance and maybe just a little gimmick but, his Devil arm is so much fun to play with...? (That sounds vaguely questionable) The way he can grab nearby enemies made it so much more easier to target enemies which was a bit of a hassle when playing as Dante in this game. The one thing I was really disappointed was that Dante's DT form still doesn't have wings šŸ’” and not being able to fly isn't fun :( but WE COPE

Nero has a lot of Dante's DMC1 personality, so that's a bit disappointing but I guess he's just a tad bit more responsible and virtous/righteous than Dante usually was. (or still is...) I read somewhere that the director of the game, aware of the backlash Konami got when MGS2 changed the protagonist to be Raiden (they're COWARDS tbh Raiden was a lot more refreshing character than Nero was), they kept their personalities similar. I'm guessing that he'll be more of a firm-serious type of guy in the next installment, a mix of Vergil and Dante.

I'm not too much of a fan of DMC music, but the song Kyrie sang was really beautiful. It's probably the first time that I'm interested in listening to a DMC song lmao!! (I feel like a lot of DMC fans would stone me for saying this)

The story was okay as is my takeaway from all the DMC games I've played, so it's not too much of a problem.

It feels good to be into something again :D

updates

Tuesday, 19 April 2022 06:04 pm
temris: (Default)
 Been some time since I properly had the time to update (and not for a game review).

Last time, I see I've mentioned preparing images to make collages. I finished all three of them: Raiden, Solid Snake and Iroquois Pliskin! ^^ My favorite is Pliskin's, I kinda messed up Raiden's - damn my shaky hands. Also, Snavid's pics were HUGE AF so I had to do his on a different notebook lmfao!


I think they look fairly pretty, right?
MGS characters are usually very pretty, especially in the older games. I don't like hyper realistic graphics myself but people seem to prefer it. Well, maybe I'll change my opinion when I'll have the chance to play V once I get a proper graphics card lol šŸ˜…

I've also managed to complete DMC3 in two days - at least the rest of it. I think I left it on mission 4 or something and went to play Splinter Cell instead. I think the only DMC review I've written is for the second one. That was because I had time to spend right after finishing it and I had some thoughts. First one was a very game. Second one was a choice. Third one was a bother.
HA. Think I'm going to get stoned for this, but I really didn't enjoy the later parts of the game. It started out really good, I'd missed seeing my mans Dante in his usual demeanor. However, the boss rush section made my skin crawl in agony. I don't even know how people can finish that game in normal difficulty, when I had trouble finding the will to finish it in easy difficulty lmfao! I applaud you people. šŸ‘šŸ‘

The day after I finished it, I started to play Yakuza 4. Not sure about the exact date but could be on 16 or 17th of April, 2022. I have some thoughts but I am still on Akiyama's last chapter so I still will leave an open mind ^^ It's not bad, but I still miss 3.

Maybe playing these games right after each other was a bad idea because I've been feeling down lately. Not sure if it has any relation to them to be honest but idk man. I feel like I'm getting older each day without accomplishing anything but like... Playing video games like this was something I never had the chance to do as a kid so now that I have the opportunity, is it really too bad of me to want to play them?? When I think like that, I don't think it is. Why am I always nice at other people but I can never show the same hospitality to myself ever? Makes one think.........

Anyway, I think that's about it. Oruç da iyi geçiyor elhamdülillah. Tek sıkıntı, sağlık problemleri. Birkaç gündür hastaydım, sanırım nezleydim. Ya da alerji olabilir, annem öyle diyor. Neyse, gözümü açabiliyorum artık :D Burnum bir türlü durmuyordu, çok fenaydı. Diğer sağlık sıkıntısı hala devam ediyor maalesef. Bakalım gelecek günler ne gösterecek.

I'm feeling that same sadness once again as I am writing this now. Well, whatever. Best to ignore, like all my problems.

I still want to do that paper model of Metal Gear REX. I'm planning on printing them along with some Daniel pics, so I can make his collage as well. Should I make it only Spader, or Shanks as well?
 
 

 

 

temris: (Scottsummers)
I started playing this game 27th Nov last year (2021) apparently, but I've only played until Mission 3 or something. Only a few days ago I had the time to pick it up again and oh boy. Now, I had my problems with the first one's story but this one... I didn't get a single thing lmfao. I think I might have forgotten some key elements if they were at the beginning but idk man.

Now, to what I liked:
  • I loved Dante's model in this. I loved his first outfit, but this one is... I think the right word would be, "sexier". Dark leather on front, showing off his chest a little... ;P (It had been years since I used this emoticon but it was fitting.)
  • Missile launcher. It comes off very late into the game though... It helped me defeat two heads of the last boss' first phase.
  • The city had some cool architecture (although some poor level design).
To what I struggled with:
  • Bolverk. This boss appears twice and it was easily one of the hardest bosses I've faced in this game. I think the others would be the one with the turning room (those kind of fights make me dizzy, just like in Bayonetta), Trimagia or something, I forgot their name. That took me a long time to finish. I probably needed to change the amulets to attack according to their magic but I didn't want to. That's on me.
  • Using the sword to attack has huge cons. I didn't know the hate towards this game when I started, until I had to look for a walkthrough at some missions when I got lost and read the comments about how much people hated it. I don't think it was sooooo bad. I mean, the first one also had problems in my opinion. But one thing I agree with them is that this game wants you to use your guns as much as possible. 
To extend on that last point, I want to talk about the game difficulty. Usually when I start a new series, I tend to select the easiest difficulty to try to get used to it. I didn't particularly seek out the easy auto on the first game, but it was given as an option after I used a vitality star during the first level. I completed it with the easy difficulty but for this second game, I was baffled to learn that there wasn't even one. Nevertheless, I finished it with the normal difficulty however??? Like I mentioned, except for a few bosses the bosses weren't that difficult, and the weirdest thing of them all is that both of the Arius fights were too easy. I get that he isn't the main antagonist but he's still shown as a pretty big deal, right? Anyway, he pretty much dies with your guns in... let's say, 10 minutes at most.

People mention the music as a positive to this game but I don't remember anything. I only feel like I've become deaf after constantly hearing the gunshot SFX...

I didn't hate it but I didn't love it either. It was alright. Dante was so fucking beautiful though. That's all I'm going to say.

Edit: Wow, okay. So I was right. You DO need to play Lucia to understand it fully (?). I don't know why I took the words of random strangers' for truth. Apparently it only takes like 2 hours? Hopefully I'll find time to play it. I need to study for the book contest so I can probably spare an hour at max at other stuff... 

Profile

temris: (Default)
temris

ā €

hi:)

image host
image host

You can call me Temris. I write from my bedroom.

I write here like it's my irl journal and my concern is just letting my thoughts loose.
Main concern: ME.
Main audience: ME.
You can read along tho :)



I have the tendency to talk about various subjects but since I can't manage more than one blog I end up letting it all get mixed together.

March 2026

M T W T F S S
      1
2345678
910111213 1415
1617181920 2122
23242526 272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios