temris: (constantine)
The year is 2015, it's the height of my Star Wars obsession. I can't wait for the movie to come out, and since there's been 10 years of no mainstream movie that came out since ROTS, the fandom is at its least active era - the ones that still do care are there mostly for Clone Wars series. So what's a girl to do who loves the original most?

To satiate my thirst, I read every single book I could get my hands on, started TCW even if it wasn't my cup of tea, and tried to play any game my potato PC could play. I still remember my joy when I stumbled upon KotOR 2 in a store out of nowhere - that was the first time I ever bought myself a physical game.

I'm not sure if I played the Old Republic games later TFA came out, but I wanted to play even more Star Wars games. I mentioned it before in this blog too that I religiously played the LEGO games too. I've never been into FPS games that much, but the SW brainrot was so strong that I even tried them out (for like 20 minutes before I realized I couldn't get used to old school controls of the games of yore - the ones made for MS-DOS, man. I was DESPERATE desperate.)

So I see this game called "The Force Unleashed" and see that it's a hack-and-slash action game. I wanted to play it so bad, and that need only grew more as I realized that there was no way my potato PC could run it.

Many years have passed by and I'm now on my 3rd computer I've used. It's finally something I am satisfied with and I am so thankful that I've got to play so many amazing games I've passed on many years ago simply because I didn't have the means to try my luck with them. And finally, The Force Unleashed had its turn.

I'm still super big on Star Wars, but mostly the ones I enjoyed for years. Most of the new content wasn't my cup of tea - that's something I'm having trouble with any fandom I'm in. So my dislike about this game certainly isn't a part of this.

I don't even know what to say. From the start of the game, I was like... "Huh, so this was the game I hyped myself too much for, huh?"

Listen, back then I just saw those images where you are able to don a lightsaber and do cool force stuff and I was MESMERIZED LMFAO. I thought it would be amazing to freely control your character like that, when the closest thing I've got to do that was in KotOR, but since it's a turn-based game, it certainly wouldn't feel the same way for sure, I told myself.

Here I am thinking, what to say about this game? It was just very painfully average that I just finished it, to finish it. I'm not the one to hang too much on graphics, if there's nothing game breaking about it, I'm fine. Although the facial expressions really made me chuckle sometimes. Character designs for the new characters are fine for the most part, but Juno's friggin boob window as an Imperial pilot made me "ughhhhhhhhhhhhhh" so bad. We've really come a long way, guys. It made me realize that because if your game was to have a female character there was 99% chance that they would be sexualised, or in her case, designed for the male gaze. Worst part about it is, the Imperials are known for discipline and the strict rules! WERE YOU GUYS THAT DESPERATE FOR SOME BOOBS ISTG.

There was almost 0 original soundtrack made for this game. I've only heard two. That's right, only TWO. The rest were completely pulled from the movie soundtracks. Since I LOVE SW music, I was okay with it but like... why? Why wouldn't you just compose some new music for it?

That also brings me to another issue nitpick I have. I feel like the game had some moments of fanservice that just made me roll my eyes. It wasn't anywhere near the level of fanservice we are getting lately from Disney, mostly from the likes of Filoni and co., but it was still meeeeh.

That word describes this entire game, just MEH. I guess I still need to give credit for making me feel the most intense emotions during my playthrough. There is one section with a star destroyer that made me SO ANGRY that I really have no memory of another game that made me that mad, ever. (And I'm actually pretty bad at video games in general, so making mistakes, having to replay a part 365830 times is nothing new to me. The thing that gets me angry is the unability to skip non-cutscene dialogue parts and the animations that play, etc. Those things combined together is something to get mad for, okay?) That part was unbearable for the reason that the throw controls are DOGSH-T and made the game so much worse.

I'm happy that it's finally finished because I wouldn't touch this game again ever with a ten-foot pole tbh. I still have so many other games I wanna play anyway.

temris: (Scottsummers)
This year was already off to a shaky start, and with bad news after bad news, my only hope for a little bit of joy was for my younger sister to return home so we could have our guaranteed fun with a LEGO game we've not played yet.

LEGO games were always our thing, since it kinda required two people to complete the puzzles we always made sure we played it together. I don't remember which ones we played first, I'm assuming it was either the Marvel/X-Men ones or the Batman/DC ones. But the most we've had fun were the original Star Wars games. The humor, along with the puzzles mixed inbetween were always a nice memory in my mind. We used to play it daily to finish it in one go. (Even while playing this new one, we kept laughing at our past memories tangled with the previous version, undoubtedly having more fun reminiscing those than playing this...)

So I don't have to talk about how much we've both waited for this new one to come out. We were disappointed that they released a single one for TFA after the movie came out, and were really curious as to how they'd make the rest of the sequel trilogy.

I can't explain how disappointed I was with this game.

Like I mentioned, at its core I think what really made us link to this game was the dual gameplay. Without one another, it's not nowhere near as fun. I don't know why, but The Skywalker Saga focuses too much on single-player. Like I literally dropped out and just watched her play instead at most parts, because the game is frigging fixed split screen, and it doesn't even give you the option to change that! The combat is also changed drastically for a dumb combo system where you have to press different buttons every two moves and it takes too long for even a random Stormtrooper to die. There were barely any "puzzles" I remember and they weren't even that challenging. I don't mean like the older one had complex puzzles, but, we used to think so hard and spend sooo much trying to understand how without looking at walkthroughs online.

Another thing we liked on the other games were the different type of characters actually mattered instead of having a small, unnecessary special skill (I'm thinking of that random eureka kind of skill the scoundrels have. The one where you just have to focus on a part and the game just does the thing for you. Why do we need that?). We used to have different characters only being able to pass a part of the map, do a puzzle, move on and then open the way for the other one, etc. Like in LOTR games, hobbits alone could pass through small sections, Gollum could walk on the walls etc. There was barely anything like that in this one.

And don't even get me started on the sections you had to endure between each scene. Like do I need to roam through the galaxy to the other start point EVERY. SINGLE. TIME???????? Half of the gameplay hours probably went for that. It's like they wanted SOOO BAD for us to play the free galaxy thingy, that they ruined the story mode completely. I don't play after I finish the story in LEGO games because I don't want to.

I love, I mean REALLY LOVE Star Wars and this game actually made me get bored playing a game taking place in that universe. Good job I guess. I now crave playing KotOR again to get rid of this feeling I have.

temris: (Scottsummers)
Hello...?
I didn't forget updating here ever, don't worry my lil journal. I've just been sooo busy, as always. Time management is a big problem for me.
I've finished my zine. YAY! It's one of the biggest accomplishments of my life I guess >< I feel content with it. The only problem for me is the expensive price tag. I wish I could have charged less but with the ever changing dollar exchange rates and the shipping prices, I had no other choice :/ I'm surprised even that many people have bought it. I just hope they all receive their copies without any hassle.

Next up: What have I been upto?

Mostly, I'm having trouble with installing back my old programs. I tried using a more recent version of PS but I always experienced bugs so in the end I said I should just continue with CS6. But even it doesn't work properly anymore!! For some reason -__- I don't know what to do anymore.

And... I haven't been able to play any video games I enjoyed. :( I mean, I loved playing Splinter Cell: Double Agent, but I've always played this series with their PC ports. People recommended I go with the PS2 version for this but playing with a controller is making me insane!! I am very bad at targeting with a controller so I trapped myself in the last level... I will try finishing it sometime (at least that's what I've been telling myself for like two months lmao).

After taking break from that, I finished Metal Gear Rising. It was... okay. I feel like it's very overrated. I knew what I was getting into and I have no problem with hack and slash games, in fact I enjoy most of them. Devil May Cry has always been fun mostly. And I also loved the fact that they still integrated some parts where you can pass with full stealth, especially with the cardboard box - my love! ^^ I had problems with the story (as I always do with Metal Gear games, lmao) but since Raiden is one of my favorite characters, I guess it bothered me a lot more than it did during other games. (I mean like. The problems I have with the story in the previous installments barely concern my faves, like Solid Snake. Except for maybe MGS4?? lol) I really liked some of the fights, like the Monsoon fight and the MG Excelsus looked pretty rad. But some of the fights were weird - like I think I was doing something wrong during the second encounter with MG Ray at the very start. But whatever. I'm done thinking about that game! I will try to erase it from my memory in the future lol.

Now, I'm trying to finish Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. This is probably one of my biggest disappointments after Omori, because I've waited so long to be able to play them. I mean, Fallen Order isn't inherently bad, but I expected so much more I guess. That's on me completely. It just makes me want to play KotOR again. :D I will try to write a seperate post on it soon when (if...) I finish the game.

I also installed Cities: Skylines and that was another disappointment. I thought it looked very fun when I watched CallMeKevin play it but... maybe it's because I barely played it (around 3 hours or something). Hopefully I can get the fun I looked for in the future.

I guess that's about it. So now I'm trying to finish a Jack/Daniel moments compilation video lol! See ya!

Profile

temris: (Default)
temris

hi:)

image host
image host

You can call me Temris. I write from my bedroom.

I write here like it's my irl journal and my concern is just letting my thoughts loose.
Main concern: ME.
Main audience: ME.
You can read along tho :)



I have the tendency to talk about various subjects but since I can't manage more than one blog I end up letting it all get mixed together.

March 2026

M T W T F S S
      1
2345678
910111213 1415
1617181920 2122
23242526 272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Style Credit

Powered by Dreamwidth Studios